As a governor, you share in the strategic responsibility of promoting high standards and ensuring that your school is conducted as a Catholic school in accordance with the Diocese of Hexham and Newcastle. All Catholic schools are under the authority of the Bishop.

We are part of the Bishop Wilkinson Catholic Education Trust under the jurisdiction of the Diocese of Hexham and Newcastle, it is the responsibility of the Bishop to appoint an overall majority of the governors who are known as foundation governors.

The governors of a school work in close collaboration with the headteacher and all staff and play a leading role in the life of a school. The structure of the governing body is as follows:

Chair of Governors: Mr Vincent Reed                                 Headteacher: Mrs Judith Black

Vice-Chair of Governors: Mrs Caroline Casey

As well as foundation governors there are governors who represent teaching and non-teaching staff, parents and the Local Authority. Here is a list of our Governors:

Name of Governor Type of Governor Date Appointed/Term of Office Committees/ Memberships Pecuniary Interests Attendance at meetings 2019/2020
Vincent Reed Foundation Governor 01/11/2019 4 Years Personnel Committee, Complaints Committee, Challenge Committee Nil 1
Victoria Metcalf Parent Governor 14/01/2019 4 Years Complaints Appeal Committee, Curriculum Committee, Finance/Premises Committee, Challenge Committee Nil 1
Laura Hughes Staff Governor 01/10/2019 4 Years Curriculum Committee Nil 1
Judith Black Staff Governor 01/09/2018 4 Years Finance/Premises Committee, Curriculum Committee, Admissions Committee Nil 1
Caroline Casey Foundation Governor 14/01/2019 4 Years Curriculum Committee, Challenge Committee, Complaints Appeals Committee Nil 1
Helen Naden LEA Governor 19/06/2017 4 Years Personnel Committee, Finance/Premises Committee, Curriculum Committee Nil 1
Louise Hanson Parent Governor 14/01/2019 4 Years   Nil 1

Governors who have retired in the last twelve months:

Mr Marko Jakeway

Mrs Lisa Swift

Mr Anthony James

Mrs Anne McGee

Mrs Catherine McCarthy

Our Chair of Governors is Mr Vincent Reed. He may be contacted via the school. Please telephone 0191 917 2484 for further information.

Our Safeguarding Governor is to be confirmed.